International Academy of Saginaw
⚠ Financial Reporting Notice: Audited FY 2025 financial records for International Academy of Saginaw were not finalized or are pending with the Michigan Department of Education (MDE). Operating expenditure and reserve figures reflect the most recently finalized filing period.
Students
Student Enrollment (MCL 388.1606)
Official state pupil membership weighting 90% Fall count (74) and 10% previous Spring count (69).
View in Glossary →
73 pupils
10-Yr Net: -167
Classroom Teachers
Classroom Teachers (REP)
Full-time equivalent certified classroom instructional staff reported in the audited CEPI Registry of Educational Personnel.
View in Glossary →
1 Teachers
Ratio: 73.2:1 (pupils/teacher)
Operating Spending
General Operating Spending (Fund 11)
Bulletin 1022 Current Operating Expenditures (COE) isolating day-to-day operations and classroom delivery from capital facility debt.
View in Glossary →
Pending MDE Filing
FY 2025 financial audit pending
Direct Instruction
Direct Classroom Instruction
Share of Current Operating Expenditures (Bulletin 1014 Functions 110, 120 & 130) dedicated directly to classroom teachers, teaching aides, textbooks, and instructional supplies.
View in Glossary →
Pending MDE Filing
Instructional breakdown pending
General Fund Reserve
General Fund Reserve (Audited MDE Bulletin 1014)
Total ending Fund 11 equity relative to annual operating expenditures under MCL 380.1219.
Accounting Note: When total reserve equity exceeds 50%, the balance typically includes substantial multi-year capital commitments, bond obligations, or federal grant encumbrances (GASB 54) rather than liquid unencumbered operating cash.
Learn about GASB 54 classifications →
N/A
Peer Benchmarks & Operational Indicators
Staffing ratios, facility capacity, and financial indicators benchmarked against peer cohorts (FY 2025)
| Operational Metric & Statutory Standard | International Academy of Saginaw | Peer Benchmark (ISD 73 Median) |
|---|---|---|
|
Student-to-Teacher Ratio
Pupil-to-Teacher Ratio
Blended enrollment divided by certificated classroom teachers (audited CEPI REP).
View in Glossary →
Blended Pupils ÷ Teacher FTE (MDE Bulletin 1014 / REP)
|
73.2:1 |
Median:
23.2:1
+215.5%
vs. Peer Median
73.2:1 vs 23.2:1 peer median (+215.5%). Reflects more pupils per certified classroom teacher.
|
|
Classroom Instruction Spend Per Pupil
Classroom Instruction Spend Per Pupil
MDE Bulletin 1014 / Bulletin 1022 Functions 110, 120, 130: Direct classroom instruction per pupil on teachers, aides, textbooks, and teaching supplies.
View in Glossary →
MDE Bulletin 1014 / Bulletin 1022 (Functions 110, 120, 130)
|
$0.00 |
Median:
$5,763.00
-100.0%
vs. Peer Median
$0/pupil vs $5,763 peer median (-$5,763 / -100.0%). Direct classroom instruction spending (Functions 110, 120, 130).
|
|
Administration Spend Per Pupil
Administration Spend Per Pupil
MDE Bulletin 1014 / Bulletin 1022 Combined Functions 230 & 240: Superintendent, board of education, legal, audit, building principals, and office staff.
View in Glossary →
MDE Bulletin 1014 / Bulletin 1022 (Combined Functions 230 & 240)
|
$0.00 |
Median:
$2,067.69
-100.0%
vs. Peer Median
$0/pupil vs $2,068 peer median (-$2,068 / -100.0%). Reflects per-pupil distribution of central office and building administration.
|
|
Operating Spend Per Student (COE)
Current Operating Expenditures (COE)
MDE Bulletin 1014 / Bulletin 1022 standard for day-to-day operations per student (Functions 100 + 200), strictly excluding capital bond debt and facility construction.
View in Glossary →
MDE Bulletin 1014 / Bulletin 1022 Current Operating Expenditures
|
$0.00 |
Median:
$12,319.00
-100.0%
vs. Peer Median
$0/pupil vs $12,319 peer median (-$12,319 / -100.0%). Total current operating expenditures per pupil.
|
|
General Fund Reserve Margin
General Fund Reserve Margin
Total ending General Fund (Fund 11) equity expressed as a percentage of total current operating expenditures under MCL 380.1219 fiscal monitoring.
View in Glossary →
MDE Bulletin 1014 Table 3 / MCL 380.1219
|
N/A |
Insufficient Cohort Size (n < 3)
Cohort sample size too small for statistical median. Switch to ISD or Statewide comparison.
|
Standardized Operational Spending & Classroom Investment
Audited operational expenditures and categorical funding allocations (FY 2025)
⚠ FY 2025 functional expenditure breakdown pending state financial audit filing.
MDE Bulletin 1022 expenditure filing for International Academy of Saginaw is not yet finalized in CEPI FID.
Active School Buildings & Operating Facilities
Audited physical building census, building operations & maintenance costs (Bulletin 1022 Function 260), and capital facilities funding (FY 2025)
Total Buildings
1
73 avg pupils / bldg
Elementary Schools
1
Grades PK–5 / K–6
Middle / Junior High
0
Grades 6–8 / 7–8
High Schools
0
Grades 9–12
Specialized Centers
0
Alternative / Center programs
Building Operations & Maintenance (Function 260)
$0
$0 / pupil (0% of operating)
Day-to-day custodial services, building utilities (electricity, heat, water), mechanical HVAC upkeep, and school grounds maintenance funded from general operating revenue under Bulletin 1022.
Capital Projects & Sinking Funds (Fund 41)
Public School Academies (Charters) cannot levy capital sinking funds or bond debt under MCL 380.501; facility leases and mortgage operations are paid out of state aid foundation revenue.
10-Year Financial History & Balance Sheet
Audited operational revenues, expenditures, General Fund (Fund 11) reserves, and GASB 54 equity (FY 2016–2025)
Charter Public School Academy Notice: Under Part 6A of the Revised School Code (MCL 380.501), charter public school academies have no statutory property taxing authority for capital sinking funds or voter-approved municipal bonds.
| Fiscal Year & Pupils | Operating Rev / Spend | Fund 11 Balance | Reserve & Days Operating Spend | Fund 41 Capital Fund 41 Capital Projects Capital project funds, bond proceeds, and sinking fund tax millages restricted exclusively to physical facilities and infrastructure under MCL 380.1212 and MCL 380.1351a. Strictly segregated from General Fund 11 operating funds. View in Glossary → |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
FY 2025 (2024-25)
73.2 pupils
|
$0.00
Spend: $0.00
|
$0.00
General Operating
|
N/A
—
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2024 (2023-24)
81.6 pupils
• ▼ Deficit Year
|
$1,218,286.35
Spend: $1,391,823.35
|
$58,172.00
General Operating
|
4.18%
~15 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2023 (2022-23)
77.5 pupils
|
$1,543,921.01
Spend: $1,329,968.00
|
$231,709.00
General Operating
|
17.42%
~64 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2022 (2021-22)
85.6 pupils
• ▼ Deficit Year
|
$1,276,874.74
Spend: $1,306,139.44
|
$17,756.00
General Operating
|
1.36%
~5 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2021 (2020-21)
128.7 pupils
|
$1,658,793.00
Spend: $1,611,776.00
|
$47,021.00
General Operating
|
2.92%
~11 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2020 (2019-20)
145.8 pupils
|
$2,017,623.35
Spend: $2,017,622.35
|
$4.00
General Operating
|
N/A
~0 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2019 (2018-19)
189.1 pupils
|
$2,315,283.73
Spend: $2,315,282.73
|
$3.00
General Operating
|
-0.42%
~-2 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2018 (2017-18)
234.9 pupils
|
$2,666,268.54
Spend: $2,666,267.75
|
$2.00
General Operating
|
-0.1%
~0 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2017 (2016-17)
300.5 pupils
• ▼ Deficit Year
|
$3,089,923.97
Spend: $3,147,647.13
|
$1.00
General Operating
|
-0.24%
~-1 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2016 (2015-16)
239.9 pupils
• ▼ Deficit Year
|
$2,630,020.92
Spend: $2,646,554.08
|
$57,724.00
General Operating
|
1.87%
~7 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
Teacher Compensation & Staffing Benchmarks
Audited average teacher salaries, FTE headcounts, and peer benchmarks (FY 2025)
Average Teacher Salary
Not Reported
Average teacher salary not reported in MDE Bulletin 1014 filing.
Certified Teaching Staff
1.0 FTEs
Student-to-Teacher Ratio: 73.2:1 (73.2 pupils/teacher)
Classroom Investment Share: 0% of Operating Spend
Average Teaching Experience
6.4 years
ISD 73 Median: 6.0 yrs
+0.4 yrs
Statewide Median: 5.8 yrs
+0.6 yrs
In-District Tenure: 3.4 yrs
(31.3% < 3 yrs)
| Fiscal Year | Teacher FTE | Avg Teacher Salary | Avg Experience | ISD 73 Median | Statewide Median | ISD Comparison |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2025 | 1.0 | Not Reported | 6.4 yrs | — | $47,834.50 | — |
| FY 2024 | 4.0 | $41,797.00 | 6.3 yrs | $41,797.00 | $47,528.00 | +$0.00 (+0.0%) |
| FY 2023 | 4.0 | Not Reported | 6.3 yrs | — | $52,166.00 | — |
| FY 2022 | 6.0 | Not Reported | 6.2 yrs | — | $48,964.00 | — |
| FY 2021 | 8.0 | Not Reported | 6.2 yrs | — | $45,362.00 | — |
| FY 2020 | 8.0 | Not Reported | 6.1 yrs | — | $43,828.50 | — |
| FY 2019 | 9.5 | Not Reported | 6.1 yrs | — | $44,309.00 | — |
| FY 2018 | 14.0 | Not Reported | 6.0 yrs | — | $40,242.50 | — |
| FY 2017 | 17.5 | Not Reported | 6.0 yrs | — | $37,778.00 | — |
| FY 2016 | 14.0 | Not Reported | 5.9 yrs | — | $39,683.00 | — |