Big Jackson School District
Students
Student Enrollment (MCL 388.1606)
Official state pupil membership weighting 90% Fall count (0) and 10% previous Spring count (0).
View in Glossary →
0 pupils
▼ -100% (5-yr)
10-Yr Net: -20
Classroom Teachers
Classroom Teachers (REP)
Full-time equivalent certified classroom instructional staff reported in the audited CEPI Registry of Educational Personnel.
View in Glossary →
0 Teachers
▼ -100% (5-yr)
Ratio: 0:1 (pupils/teacher)
Operating Spending
General Operating Spending (Fund 11)
Bulletin 1022 Current Operating Expenditures (COE) isolating day-to-day operations and classroom delivery from capital facility debt.
View in Glossary →
$24,218.00 / student
▲ +76% (5-yr)
$484K total operating spend (COE)
Direct Instruction
Direct Classroom Instruction
Share of Current Operating Expenditures (Bulletin 1014 Functions 110, 120 & 130) dedicated directly to classroom teachers, teaching aides, textbooks, and instructional supplies.
View in Glossary →
41% of Budget
$9,822.00 / student
Functions 110, 120 & 130 (Benchmark: ≥60% • Center program adjusted)
General Fund Reserve
General Fund Reserve (Audited MDE Bulletin 1014)
Total ending Fund 11 equity relative to annual operating expenditures under MCL 380.1219.
Accounting Note: When total reserve equity exceeds 50%, the balance typically includes substantial multi-year capital commitments, bond obligations, or federal grant encumbrances (GASB 54) rather than liquid unencumbered operating cash.
Learn about GASB 54 classifications →
99%
Reserve
~363 Days Gross Spend
Peer Benchmarks & Operational Indicators
Staffing ratios, facility capacity, and financial indicators benchmarked against peer cohorts (FY 2025)
| Operational Metric & Statutory Standard | Big Jackson School District | Peer Benchmark (MDE Median) |
|---|
Standardized Operational Spending & Classroom Investment
Audited operational expenditures and categorical funding allocations (FY 2025)
Four-Bucket Operational Spending Allocation Bulletin 1022 Functional Allocation Standardized MDE functional architecture dividing operating expenditures into Direct Instruction, Student Support, Administration, and Operations. View in Glossary →
Current Operating Total (COE): $24,218.00/pupil
•
ISD Median: $14,030.00/pupil
•
State Median: $14,379.00/pupil
Direct Instruction (40.6%)
Student Support (16.9%)
Administration (21.3%)
Operations (21.2%)
| Functional Category | Scope & Included Services | Spend / Pupil | Share of Operating Spend (COE) Current Operating Expenditures (COE) Under MDE Bulletin 1014 / Bulletin 1022 standards, Current Operating Expenditures (COE) comprise day-to-day district operational costs (Functions 100 Instruction + Functions 200 Support Services), strictly excluding capital bond sinking funds (Fund 41), debt service (Fund 31), and community services. View in Glossary → | ISD Median ISD Peer Median (Traditional LEAs) Audited median share and per-pupil spending across traditional public school districts within ISD 62 (Newaygo). View in Glossary → | State Median Statewide Peer Median (Traditional LEAs) Audited statewide median share and per-pupil spending across all Michigan traditional public school districts. View in Glossary → |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
1. Direct Instruction
Functions 110, 120, 130
Classroom teachers, teaching aides, textbooks, and instructional supplies.
View in Glossary →
110, 120, 130
|
Classroom teachers, teaching aides, textbooks, and instructional supplies. | $9,822.00 | 40.6% |
67.1%
$9,444.00/pupil
|
62.3%
$8,982.00/pupil
|
|
2. Student & Instructional Support
Functions 210, 220, 270, 280, 290
Guidance counselors, social workers, school nurses, speech therapy, library media, and transportation.
View in Glossary →
210, 220, 270, 280, 290
|
Guidance counselors, social workers, school nurses, speech therapy, library media, and transportation. | $4,097.05 | 16.9% |
10.3%
$1,448.00/pupil
|
13.6%
$1,980.00/pupil
|
|
3. School & District Administration
Functions 230, 240
Board of Education, Superintendent, legal/audit, building principals, and office staff.
View in Glossary →
230, 240
|
Board of Education, Superintendent, legal/audit, building principals, and office staff. | $5,164.48 | 21.3% |
13.4%
$1,836.00/pupil
|
13.6%
$1,907.00/pupil
|
|
4. Operations & Maintenance
Function 260
Custodial staff, utilities, building upkeep, and facilities grounds.
View in Glossary →
Function 260
|
Custodial staff, utilities, building upkeep, and facilities grounds. | $5,133.88 | 21.2% |
8.6%
$1,216.00/pupil
|
9.9%
$1,436.00/pupil
|
| Total Current Operating Spend (COE) | $24,218.00 | 100.0% |
$14,030.00
ISD Median
|
$14,379.00
State Median
|
|
Audited Operating Expenditures by Object (Salaries, Benefits & Contracted Services) Bulletin 1022 Object Classifications Standardized accounting codes classifying operating expenditures by economic type: Salaries (Object 1000), Employee Benefits (Object 2000), Purchased Services (Objects 3000 & 4000), and Supplies (Object 5000). View in Glossary →
Pending State FID Filing
Detailed Bulletin 1022 Dimension 2 object expenditure disaggregations (Salaries, Healthcare Benefits, MPSERS Pension, and Outside Vendor Contracts) for Big Jackson School District are pending state CEPI FID audit filing for FY 2025.
Special Populations & Regional Center Program Notice:
Big Jackson School District houses a regional center-based special education program: Regional Center-Based Special Education Program. These programs serve students with severe cognitive, physical, or specialized educational needs from across the intermediate school district under MCL 380.1701. Because center-based programs require intensive specialized educators, therapists, and medical support, per-pupil averages are elevated compared to standard general-education programs.
Active School Buildings & Operating Facilities
Audited physical building census, building operations & maintenance costs (Bulletin 1022 Function 260), and capital facilities funding (FY 2025)
Total Buildings
0
Active school sites
Elementary Schools
0
Grades PK–5 / K–6
Middle / Junior High
0
Grades 6–8 / 7–8
High Schools
0
Grades 9–12
Specialized Centers
0
Alternative / Center programs
Building Operations & Maintenance (Function 260)
$102,678
$5,134 / pupil (21.2% of operating)
Day-to-day custodial services, building utilities (electricity, heat, water), mechanical HVAC upkeep, and school grounds maintenance funded from general operating revenue under Bulletin 1022.
Capital Projects & Sinking Funds (Fund 41)
$26,524
Ending Balance: $0
Statutorily segregated capital outlay, facility renovations, and technology acquisitions under MCL 380.1212. Operating funds cannot be diverted into capital projects.
10-Year Financial History & Balance Sheet
Audited operational revenues, expenditures, General Fund (Fund 11) reserves, and GASB 54 equity (FY 2016–2025)
Audited General Fund Balance Sheet & GASB 54 Equity (FY 2024)
GASB 54 Classification Standards →
GASB 54 Note:
Under governmental accounting standards, ending General Fund equity comprises nonspendable inventory, state-restricted grants, board-committed funds, contracts assigned for future projects, and unassigned operating reserves. Consult the local audited financial statement for specific local assignments.
Total Fund Assets
$552K
Total Liabilities & Inflows
$71K
Total Ending Equity
$481K
Assigned Commitments
$0
Operating Cushion (Unassigned)
$481K
Statutory Firewall (Fund 41 Capital vs. Fund 11 Operating):
Under Michigan law (MCL 380.1212 & MCL 380.1351a), capital project funds, bond proceeds, and sinking fund tax millages are restricted exclusively to physical facilities, real estate, and capital infrastructure. They cannot legally be transferred to the General Fund or expended on operational payroll, classroom teachers, or routine supplies.
View permitted vs. prohibited uses in the Glossary →
Encumbered Equity Disclosure:
Audited ending General Fund equity is $481,180.83 (99% of operating spend). For districts holding high fund balances, local boards assign significant shares of Fund 11 equity toward multi-year facility improvements, equipment contracts, and designated programs. Check the local audited financial report for exact unassigned cash reserves.
| Fiscal Year & Pupils | Operating Rev / Spend | Fund 11 Balance | Reserve & Days Operating Spend | Fund 41 Capital Fund 41 Capital Projects Capital project funds, bond proceeds, and sinking fund tax millages restricted exclusively to physical facilities and infrastructure under MCL 380.1212 and MCL 380.1351a. Strictly segregated from General Fund 11 operating funds. View in Glossary → |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
FY 2024 (2023-24)
20.2 pupils
• ▼ Deficit Year
|
$405,982.11
Spend: $484,405.68
|
$481,180.83
Gross Fund Equity*
|
99.33%
~363 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2023 (2022-23)
19.8 pupils
|
$466,647.66
Spend: $423,756.47
|
$559,604.40
Gross Fund Equity*
|
132.06%
~482 days spend
|
$25,860.98
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2022 (2021-22)
14.9 pupils
|
$404,199.49
Spend: $357,137.85
|
$516,713.21
Gross Fund Equity*
|
144.68%
~528 days spend
|
$25,344.32
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2021 (2020-21)
11.1 pupils
|
$352,102.57
Spend: $315,056.78
|
$469,651.57
Gross Fund Equity*
|
149.07%
~544 days spend
|
$25,290.61
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2020 (2019-20)
19.2 pupils
|
$327,161.47
Spend: $265,000.36
|
$432,605.78
Gross Fund Equity*
|
163.25%
~596 days spend
|
$25,276.25
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2019 (2018-19)
23.7 pupils
|
$339,180.22
Spend: $300,671.86
|
$370,444.67
Gross Fund Equity*
|
123.21%
~450 days spend
|
$24,981.96
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2018 (2017-18)
13.6 pupils
|
$323,384.57
Spend: $272,856.00
|
$331,936.31
Gross Fund Equity*
|
121.65%
~444 days spend
|
$24,595.53
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2017 (2016-17)
18.8 pupils
|
$312,500.76
Spend: $306,975.97
|
$281,407.74
Gross Fund Equity*
|
91.67%
~335 days spend
|
$24,414.83
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2016 (2015-16)
20.5 pupils
|
$384,089.41
Spend: $335,002.96
|
$275,882.95
Gross Fund Equity*
|
82.35%
~301 days spend
|
$24,310.08
Restricted Facility
|
Teacher Compensation & Staffing Benchmarks
Audited average teacher salaries, FTE headcounts, and peer benchmarks (FY 2025)
Average Teacher Salary
Not Reported
Average teacher salary not reported in MDE Bulletin 1014 filing.
Average Teaching Experience
Not Reported
Educator experience not reported in CEPI REP filing.
| Fiscal Year | Teacher FTE | Avg Teacher Salary | Avg Experience | ISD 62 Median | Statewide Median | ISD Comparison |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2024 | 1.9 | $31,373.00 | 13.0 yrs | $67,588.50 | $63,137.00 | -$36,215.50 (-53.6%) |
| FY 2023 | 1.0 | $35,146.00 | 12.5 yrs | $69,128.00 | $61,624.00 | -$33,982.00 (-49.2%) |
| FY 2022 | 1.9 | $32,699.00 | 12.0 yrs | $65,027.00 | $59,831.00 | -$32,328.00 (-49.7%) |
| FY 2021 | 1.9 | $33,412.00 | 11.6 yrs | $62,476.00 | $59,206.00 | -$29,064.00 (-46.5%) |
| FY 2020 | 1.9 | $29,075.00 | 11.1 yrs | $61,084.50 | $58,410.00 | -$32,009.50 (-52.4%) |
| FY 2019 | 2.0 | $24,266.00 | 13.4 yrs | $57,922.00 | $57,272.00 | -$33,656.00 (-58.1%) |
| FY 2018 | 2.0 | $24,645.00 | 12.9 yrs | $57,914.50 | $56,865.00 | -$33,269.50 (-57.4%) |
| FY 2017 | 1.0 | $42,683.00 | 12.5 yrs | $58,720.50 | $56,884.00 | -$16,037.50 (-27.3%) |
| FY 2016 | 2.0 | $14,800.00 | 12.0 yrs | $60,093.00 | $56,886.00 | -$45,293.00 (-75.4%) |