Success Virtual Learning Centers of Michigan
Students
Student Enrollment (MCL 388.1606)
Official state pupil membership weighting 90% Fall count (1,704) and 10% previous Spring count (1,794).
View in Glossary →
1,713 pupils
▲ +3% (5-yr)
10-Yr Net: +1,148
Classroom Teachers
Classroom Teachers (REP)
Full-time equivalent certified classroom instructional staff reported in the audited CEPI Registry of Educational Personnel.
View in Glossary →
16 Teachers
▼ -32% (5-yr)
Ratio: 107.0:1 (pupils/teacher)
Operating Spending
General Operating Spending (Fund 11)
Bulletin 1022 Current Operating Expenditures (COE) isolating day-to-day operations and classroom delivery from capital facility debt.
View in Glossary →
$11,919.00 / student
▲ +42% (5-yr)
$20.3M total operating spend (COE)
Direct Instruction
Direct Classroom Instruction
Share of Current Operating Expenditures (Bulletin 1014 Functions 110, 120 & 130) dedicated directly to classroom teachers, teaching aides, textbooks, and instructional supplies.
View in Glossary →
33% of Budget
$3,930.00 / student
Functions 110, 120 & 130 (Benchmark: ≥60% • Center program adjusted)
General Fund Reserve
General Fund Reserve (Audited MDE Bulletin 1014)
Total ending Fund 11 equity relative to annual operating expenditures under MCL 380.1219.
Accounting Note: When total reserve equity exceeds 50%, the balance typically includes substantial multi-year capital commitments, bond obligations, or federal grant encumbrances (GASB 54) rather than liquid unencumbered operating cash.
Learn about GASB 54 classifications →
10%
Reserve
~37 Days Operating Spend
Peer Benchmarks & Operational Indicators
Staffing ratios, facility capacity, and financial indicators benchmarked against peer cohorts (FY 2025)
| Operational Metric & Statutory Standard | Success Virtual Learning Centers of Michigan | Peer Benchmark (MDE Group K Median) |
|---|---|---|
|
Student-to-Teacher Ratio
Pupil-to-Teacher Ratio
Blended enrollment divided by certificated classroom teachers (audited CEPI REP).
View in Glossary →
Blended Pupils ÷ Teacher FTE (MDE Bulletin 1014 / REP)
|
107.0:1 |
Median:
28.3:1
+278.1%
vs. Peer Median
107.0:1 vs 28.3:1 peer median (+278.1%). Reflects more pupils per certified classroom teacher.
|
|
Classroom Instruction Spend Per Pupil
Classroom Instruction Spend Per Pupil
MDE Bulletin 1014 / Bulletin 1022 Functions 110, 120, 130: Direct classroom instruction per pupil on teachers, aides, textbooks, and teaching supplies.
View in Glossary →
MDE Bulletin 1014 / Bulletin 1022 (Functions 110, 120, 130)
|
$3,930.00 |
Median:
$6,206.00
-36.7%
vs. Peer Median
$3,930/pupil vs $6,206 peer median (-$2,276 / -36.7%). Direct classroom instruction spending (Functions 110, 120, 130).
|
|
Administration Spend Per Pupil
Administration Spend Per Pupil
MDE Bulletin 1014 / Bulletin 1022 Combined Functions 230 & 240: Superintendent, board of education, legal, audit, building principals, and office staff.
View in Glossary →
MDE Bulletin 1014 / Bulletin 1022 (Combined Functions 230 & 240)
|
$2,081.13 |
Median:
$2,996.54
-30.5%
vs. Peer Median
$2,081/pupil vs $2,997 peer median (-$915 / -30.5%). Reflects per-pupil distribution of central office and building administration.
|
|
Operating Spend Per Student (COE)
Current Operating Expenditures (COE)
MDE Bulletin 1014 / Bulletin 1022 standard for day-to-day operations per student (Functions 100 + 200), strictly excluding capital bond debt and facility construction.
View in Glossary →
MDE Bulletin 1014 / Bulletin 1022 Current Operating Expenditures
|
$11,919.00 |
Median:
$12,855.00
-7.3%
vs. Peer Median
$11,919/pupil vs $12,855 peer median (-$936 / -7.3%). Total current operating expenditures per pupil.
|
|
General Fund Reserve Margin
General Fund Reserve Margin
Total ending General Fund (Fund 11) equity expressed as a percentage of total current operating expenditures under MCL 380.1219 fiscal monitoring.
View in Glossary →
MDE Bulletin 1014 Table 3 / MCL 380.1219
|
10.09% |
Median:
13.26%
-23.9%
vs. Peer Median
10.1% vs 13.3% peer median (-23.9%). General Fund operating reserve margin.
|
Standardized Operational Spending & Classroom Investment
Audited operational expenditures and categorical funding allocations (FY 2025)
Four-Bucket Operational Spending Allocation Bulletin 1022 Functional Allocation Standardized MDE functional architecture dividing operating expenditures into Direct Instruction, Student Support, Administration, and Operations. View in Glossary →
Current Operating Total (COE): $11,919.00/pupil
•
ISD Median: $11,561.00/pupil
•
State Median: $13,252.00/pupil
Direct Instruction (33.0%)
Student Support (36.0%)
Administration (17.5%)
Operations (13.5%)
| Functional Category | Scope & Included Services | Spend / Pupil | Share of Operating Spend (COE) Current Operating Expenditures (COE) Under MDE Bulletin 1014 / Bulletin 1022 standards, Current Operating Expenditures (COE) comprise day-to-day district operational costs (Functions 100 Instruction + Functions 200 Support Services), strictly excluding capital bond sinking funds (Fund 41), debt service (Fund 31), and community services. View in Glossary → | ISD Median ISD Peer Median (Charters) Audited median share and per-pupil spending across charter public school academies within ISD 59 (Montcalm). View in Glossary → | State Median Statewide Peer Median (Charters) Audited statewide median share and per-pupil spending across all Michigan charter public school academies. View in Glossary → |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
1. Direct Instruction
Functions 110, 120, 130
Classroom teachers, teaching aides, textbooks, and instructional supplies.
View in Glossary →
110, 120, 130
|
Classroom teachers, teaching aides, textbooks, and instructional supplies. | $3,930.00 | 33.0% |
41.1%
$4,718.00/pupil
|
48.0%
$6,576.00/pupil
|
|
2. Student & Instructional Support
Functions 210, 220, 270, 280, 290
Guidance counselors, social workers, school nurses, speech therapy, library media, and transportation.
View in Glossary →
210, 220, 270, 280, 290
|
Guidance counselors, social workers, school nurses, speech therapy, library media, and transportation. | $4,294.06 | 36.0% |
26.7%
$3,120.00/pupil
|
14.9%
$1,997.00/pupil
|
|
3. School & District Administration
Functions 230, 240
Board of Education, Superintendent, legal/audit, building principals, and office staff.
View in Glossary →
230, 240
|
Board of Education, Superintendent, legal/audit, building principals, and office staff. | $2,081.13 | 17.5% |
20.0%
$2,301.00/pupil
|
23.6%
$3,181.00/pupil
|
|
4. Operations & Maintenance
Function 260
Custodial staff, utilities, building upkeep, and facilities grounds.
View in Glossary →
Function 260
|
Custodial staff, utilities, building upkeep, and facilities grounds. | $1,614.54 | 13.5% |
12.2%
$1,422.00/pupil
|
11.6%
$1,606.00/pupil
|
| Total Current Operating Spend (COE) | $11,919.00 | 100.0% |
$11,561.00
ISD Median
|
$13,252.00
State Median
|
|
Audited Operating Expenditures by Object (Salaries, Benefits & Contracted Services) Bulletin 1022 Object Classifications Standardized accounting codes classifying operating expenditures by economic type: Salaries (Object 1000), Employee Benefits (Object 2000), Purchased Services (Objects 3000 & 4000), and Supplies (Object 5000). View in Glossary →
Pending State FID Filing
Detailed Bulletin 1022 Dimension 2 object expenditure disaggregations (Salaries, Healthcare Benefits, MPSERS Pension, and Outside Vendor Contracts) for Success Virtual Learning Centers of Michigan are pending state CEPI FID audit filing for FY 2025.
Special Populations & Regional Center Program Notice:
Success Virtual Learning Centers of Michigan houses a regional center-based special education program: Regional Center-Based Special Education Program. These programs serve students with severe cognitive, physical, or specialized educational needs from across the intermediate school district under MCL 380.1701. Because center-based programs require intensive specialized educators, therapists, and medical support, per-pupil averages are elevated compared to standard general-education programs.
Active School Buildings & Operating Facilities
Audited physical building census, building operations & maintenance costs (Bulletin 1022 Function 260), and capital facilities funding (FY 2025)
Total Buildings
2
856 avg pupils / bldg
Elementary Schools
2
Grades PK–5 / K–6
Middle / Junior High
0
Grades 6–8 / 7–8
High Schools
0
Grades 9–12
Specialized Centers
0
Alternative / Center programs
Building Operations & Maintenance (Function 260)
$2,748,689
$1,615 / pupil (13.5% of operating)
Day-to-day custodial services, building utilities (electricity, heat, water), mechanical HVAC upkeep, and school grounds maintenance funded from general operating revenue under Bulletin 1022.
Capital Projects & Sinking Funds (Fund 41)
Public School Academies (Charters) cannot levy capital sinking funds or bond debt under MCL 380.501; facility leases and mortgage operations are paid out of state aid foundation revenue.
10-Year Financial History & Balance Sheet
Audited operational revenues, expenditures, General Fund (Fund 11) reserves, and GASB 54 equity (FY 2016–2025)
Audited General Fund Balance Sheet & GASB 54 Equity (FY 2025)
GASB 54 Classification Standards →
GASB 54 Note:
Under governmental accounting standards, ending General Fund equity comprises nonspendable inventory, state-restricted grants, board-committed funds, contracts assigned for future projects, and unassigned operating reserves. Consult the local audited financial statement for specific local assignments.
Total Fund Assets
$9.1M
Total Liabilities & Inflows
$7.0M
Total Ending Equity
$2.1M
Assigned Commitments
Not Disaggregated in State Feed
Operating Cushion (Unassigned)
Not Disaggregated in State Feed
Charter Public School Academy Notice: Under Part 6A of the Revised School Code (MCL 380.501), charter public school academies have no statutory property taxing authority for capital sinking funds or voter-approved municipal bonds.
| Fiscal Year & Pupils | Operating Rev / Spend | Fund 11 Balance | Reserve & Days Operating Spend | Fund 41 Capital Fund 41 Capital Projects Capital project funds, bond proceeds, and sinking fund tax millages restricted exclusively to physical facilities and infrastructure under MCL 380.1212 and MCL 380.1351a. Strictly segregated from General Fund 11 operating funds. View in Glossary → |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
FY 2025 (2024-25)
1,712.7 pupils
|
$20,787,126.35
Spend: $20,451,746.32
|
$2,063,920.08
General Operating
|
10.09%
~37 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2024 (2023-24)
1,899.5 pupils
|
$20,076,186.81
Spend: $19,719,242.19
|
$1,728,540.05
General Operating
|
8.77%
~32 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2023 (2022-23)
1,876.7 pupils
|
$20,285,145.20
Spend: $19,967,920.77
|
$1,371,595.43
General Operating
|
6.87%
~25 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2022 (2021-22)
1,690.2 pupils
|
$17,387,428.72
Spend: $17,143,627.85
|
$1,054,370.98
General Operating
|
6.15%
~22 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2021 (2020-21)
1,669.9 pupils
|
$16,017,772.47
Spend: $15,549,795.52
|
$810,570.11
General Operating
|
5.21%
~19 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2020 (2019-20)
1,536.9 pupils
|
$13,255,371.34
Spend: $13,045,911.79
|
$342,592.86
General Operating
|
2.63%
~10 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2019 (2018-19)
1,277.6 pupils
|
$10,235,036.76
Spend: $10,125,538.07
|
$133,133.31
General Operating
|
1.31%
~5 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2018 (2017-18)
564.8 pupils
|
$4,553,820.15
Spend: $4,532,262.98
|
$23,634.44
General Operating
|
0.52%
~2 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
Teacher Compensation & Staffing Benchmarks
Audited average teacher salaries, FTE headcounts, and peer benchmarks (FY 2025)
Average Teacher Salary
Not Reported
Average teacher salary not reported in MDE Bulletin 1014 filing.
Certified Teaching Staff
16.0 FTEs
Student-to-Teacher Ratio: 107.0:1 (107.0 pupils/teacher)
Classroom Investment Share: 33.0% of Operating Spend
Average Teaching Experience
5.9 years
ISD 59 Median: 5.7 yrs
+0.2 yrs
Statewide Median: 5.8 yrs
+0.1 yrs
In-District Tenure: 3.1 yrs
(32.9% < 3 yrs)
| Fiscal Year | Teacher FTE | Avg Teacher Salary | Avg Experience | ISD 59 Median | Statewide Median | ISD Comparison |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2025 | 16.0 | Not Reported | 5.9 yrs | — | $47,834.50 | — |
| FY 2024 | 20.7 | Not Reported | 5.8 yrs | — | $47,528.00 | — |
| FY 2023 | 23.2 | Not Reported | 5.8 yrs | — | $52,166.00 | — |
| FY 2022 | 18.0 | Not Reported | 5.7 yrs | — | $48,964.00 | — |
| FY 2021 | 23.5 | Not Reported | 5.7 yrs | — | $45,362.00 | — |
| FY 2020 | 21.0 | Not Reported | 5.6 yrs | — | $43,828.50 | — |
| FY 2019 | 17.0 | Not Reported | 5.6 yrs | — | $44,309.00 | — |
| FY 2018 | 8.5 | Not Reported | 5.5 yrs | — | $40,242.50 | — |