Copper Harbor School District

Annexed (FY2019) State Code: 42010 • ISD: ISD 31 () • County: • Locale: Standard
View ISD Regional Peers →
🏛 Inactive District Status: Annexed by Hancock Public Schools (31010) in FY 2019 (MCL 380.901).
Students Student Enrollment (MCL 388.1606) Official state pupil membership weighting 90% Fall count (0) and 10% previous Spring count (0). View in Glossary →
0 pupils
10-Yr Net: 0
Classroom Teachers Classroom Teachers (REP) Full-time equivalent certified classroom instructional staff reported in the audited CEPI Registry of Educational Personnel. View in Glossary →
0 Teachers
Ratio: 0:1 (pupils/teacher)
Operating Spending General Operating Spending (Fund 11) Bulletin 1022 Current Operating Expenditures (COE) isolating day-to-day operations and classroom delivery from capital facility debt. View in Glossary →
Pending MDE Filing
FY 2025 financial audit pending
Direct Instruction Direct Classroom Instruction Share of Current Operating Expenditures (Bulletin 1014 Functions 110, 120 & 130) dedicated directly to classroom teachers, teaching aides, textbooks, and instructional supplies. View in Glossary →
Pending MDE Filing
Instructional breakdown pending
General Fund Reserve General Fund Reserve (Audited MDE Bulletin 1014) Total ending Fund 11 equity relative to annual operating expenditures under MCL 380.1219. Accounting Note: When total reserve equity exceeds 50%, the balance typically includes substantial multi-year capital commitments, bond obligations, or federal grant encumbrances (GASB 54) rather than liquid unencumbered operating cash. Learn about GASB 54 classifications →
N/A
N/A

Peer Benchmarks & Operational Indicators

Staffing ratios, facility capacity, and financial indicators benchmarked against peer cohorts (FY 2025)
Benchmark Against:
Operational Metric & Statutory Standard Copper Harbor School District Peer Benchmark (MDE Median) Peer Benchmark (ISD 31 Median) Peer Benchmark (Statewide Median)
Source: Audited Michigan Department of Education (MDE) Bulletin 1014 & Bulletin 1022 Standards, CEPI REP Staffing Census, and CEPI Pupil Accounting. Audited FY 2025. Indicators benchmarked against peer cohorts.

Standardized Operational Spending & Classroom Investment

Audited operational expenditures and categorical funding allocations (FY 2025)

⚠ FY 2025 functional expenditure breakdown pending state financial audit filing.

MDE Bulletin 1022 expenditure filing for Copper Harbor School District is not yet finalized in CEPI FID.

Source: Michigan Department of Education (MDE) Bulletin 1014 & Bulletin 1022. Audited FY 2025.

Active School Buildings & Operating Facilities

Audited physical building census, building operations & maintenance costs (Bulletin 1022 Function 260), and capital facilities funding (FY 2025)
Total Buildings
0
Active school sites
Elementary Schools
0
Grades PK–5 / K–6
Middle / Junior High
0
Grades 6–8 / 7–8
High Schools
0
Grades 9–12
Specialized Centers
0
Alternative / Center programs

Building Operations & Maintenance (Function 260)

Function 260 expenditure data pending MDE financial filing.

Capital Projects & Sinking Funds (Fund 41)

$0 Fund Balance: $0

No active voter-approved capital project bond or sinking fund expenditures reported for FY 2025.

Source: Audited Michigan Department of Education (MDE) School Infrastructure & Facilities Census, CEPI FID Bulletin 1022 Function 260 Accounting, and MDE Bulletin 1014/1011 (FY 2025).

10-Year Financial History & Balance Sheet

Audited operational revenues, expenditures, General Fund (Fund 11) reserves, and GASB 54 equity (FY 2016–2025)
Statutory Firewall (Fund 41 Capital vs. Fund 11 Operating): Under Michigan law (MCL 380.1212 & MCL 380.1351a), capital project funds, bond proceeds, and sinking fund tax millages are restricted exclusively to physical facilities, real estate, and capital infrastructure. They cannot legally be transferred to the General Fund or expended on operational payroll, classroom teachers, or routine supplies. View permitted vs. prohibited uses in the Glossary →
Fiscal Year & Pupils Operating Rev / Spend Fund 11 Balance Reserve & Days Operating Spend Fund 41 Capital Fund 41 Capital Projects Capital project funds, bond proceeds, and sinking fund tax millages restricted exclusively to physical facilities and infrastructure under MCL 380.1212 and MCL 380.1351a. Strictly segregated from General Fund 11 operating funds. View in Glossary →
Source: Michigan Department of Education (MDE) Bulletin 1014 & Bulletin 1011 Audited Annual Financial Reports (FY 2016–2025).

Teacher Compensation & Staffing Benchmarks

Audited average teacher salaries, FTE headcounts, and peer benchmarks (FY 2025)
Average Teacher Salary
Not Reported
Average teacher salary not reported in MDE Bulletin 1014 filing.
Certified Teaching Staff
Not Reported
Classroom Investment Share: 0% of Operating Spend
Average Teaching Experience
Not Reported
Educator experience not reported in CEPI REP filing.
Source: Audited Michigan Department of Education (MDE) Bulletin 1014 Table 7 (Average Teacher Salaries) and CEPI Registry of Educational Personnel (REP) Staffing Census & Educator Qualifications (FY 2016–2025).