Charlevoix Academy
๐ Inactive District Status:
Inactive district with zero pupil enrollment.
Students
Student Enrollment (MCL 388.1606)
Official state pupil membership weighting 90% Fall count (0) and 10% previous Spring count (0).
View in Glossary →
0 pupils
โฒ +14% (5-yr)
10-Yr Net: -12
Classroom Teachers
Classroom Teachers (REP)
Full-time equivalent certified classroom instructional staff reported in the audited CEPI Registry of Educational Personnel.
View in Glossary →
0 Teachers
โผ -44% (5-yr)
Ratio: 0:1 (pupils/teacher)
Operating Spending
General Operating Spending (Fund 11)
Bulletin 1022 Current Operating Expenditures (COE) isolating day-to-day operations and classroom delivery from capital facility debt.
View in Glossary →
$13,144.00 / student
โผ -2% (5-yr)
$648K total operating spend (COE)
Direct Instruction
Direct Classroom Instruction
Share of Current Operating Expenditures (Bulletin 1014 Functions 110, 120 & 130) dedicated directly to classroom teachers, teaching aides, textbooks, and instructional supplies.
View in Glossary →
57% of Budget
$7,487.00 / student
Functions 110, 120 & 130 (Benchmark: ≥60%)
General Fund Reserve
General Fund Reserve (Audited MDE Bulletin 1014)
Total ending Fund 11 equity relative to annual operating expenditures under MCL 380.1219.
Accounting Note: When total reserve equity exceeds 50%, the balance typically includes substantial multi-year capital commitments, bond obligations, or federal grant encumbrances (GASB 54) rather than liquid unencumbered operating cash.
Learn about GASB 54 classifications →
19%
Reserve
~68 Days Operating Spend
Peer Benchmarks & Operational Indicators
Staffing ratios, facility capacity, and financial indicators benchmarked against peer cohorts (FY 2025)
| Operational Metric & Statutory Standard | Charlevoix Academy | Peer Benchmark (MDE Median) |
|---|
Standardized Operational Spending & Classroom Investment
Audited operational expenditures and categorical funding allocations (FY 2025)
Four-Bucket Operational Spending Allocation Bulletin 1022 Functional Allocation Standardized MDE functional architecture dividing operating expenditures into Direct Instruction, Student Support, Administration, and Operations. View in Glossary →
Current Operating Total (COE): $13,144.00/pupil
•
ISD Median: $12,194.00/pupil
•
State Median: $12,240.00/pupil
Direct Instruction (57.0%)
Student Support (0.0%)
Administration (27.0%)
Operations (16.0%)
| Functional Category | Scope & Included Services | Spend / Pupil | Share of Operating Spend (COE) Current Operating Expenditures (COE) Under MDE Bulletin 1014 / Bulletin 1022 standards, Current Operating Expenditures (COE) comprise day-to-day district operational costs (Functions 100 Instruction + Functions 200 Support Services), strictly excluding capital bond sinking funds (Fund 41), debt service (Fund 31), and community services. View in Glossary → | ISD Median ISD Peer Median (Charters) Audited median share and per-pupil spending across charter public school academies within ISD 15 (Charlevoix). View in Glossary → | State Median Statewide Peer Median (Charters) Audited statewide median share and per-pupil spending across all Michigan charter public school academies. View in Glossary → |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
1. Direct Instruction
Functions 110, 120, 130
Classroom teachers, teaching aides, textbooks, and instructional supplies.
View in Glossary →
110, 120, 130
|
Classroom teachers, teaching aides, textbooks, and instructional supplies. | $7,487.00 | 57.0% |
57.0%
$6,701.00/pupil
|
49.6%
$6,168.00/pupil
|
|
2. Student & Instructional Support
Functions 210, 220, 270, 280, 290
Guidance counselors, social workers, school nurses, speech therapy, library media, and transportation.
View in Glossary →
210, 220, 270, 280, 290
|
Guidance counselors, social workers, school nurses, speech therapy, library media, and transportation. | $0.00 | 0.0% |
0.0%
$0.00/pupil
|
13.4%
$1,597.00/pupil
|
|
3. School & District Administration
Functions 230, 240
Board of Education, Superintendent, legal/audit, building principals, and office staff.
View in Glossary →
230, 240
|
Board of Education, Superintendent, legal/audit, building principals, and office staff. | $3,550.48 | 27.0% |
27.6%
$3,550.00/pupil
|
23.3%
$2,953.00/pupil
|
|
4. Operations & Maintenance
Function 260
Custodial staff, utilities, building upkeep, and facilities grounds.
View in Glossary →
Function 260
|
Custodial staff, utilities, building upkeep, and facilities grounds. | $2,106.75 | 16.0% |
13.7%
$1,671.00/pupil
|
12.2%
$1,511.00/pupil
|
| Total Current Operating Spend (COE) | $13,144.00 | 100.0% |
$12,194.00
ISD Median
|
$12,240.00
State Median
|
|
Audited Operating Expenditures by Object (Salaries, Benefits & Contracted Services) Bulletin 1022 Object Classifications Standardized accounting codes classifying operating expenditures by economic type: Salaries (Object 1000), Employee Benefits (Object 2000), Purchased Services (Objects 3000 & 4000), and Supplies (Object 5000). View in Glossary →
Pending State FID Filing
Detailed Bulletin 1022 Dimension 2 object expenditure disaggregations (Salaries, Healthcare Benefits, MPSERS Pension, and Outside Vendor Contracts) for Charlevoix Academy are pending state CEPI FID audit filing for FY 2025.
Active School Buildings & Operating Facilities
Audited physical building census, building operations & maintenance costs (Bulletin 1022 Function 260), and capital facilities funding (FY 2025)
Total Buildings
0
Active school sites
Elementary Schools
0
Grades PKโ5 / Kโ6
Middle / Junior High
0
Grades 6โ8 / 7โ8
High Schools
0
Grades 9โ12
Specialized Centers
0
Alternative / Center programs
Building Operations & Maintenance (Function 260)
$103,800
$2,107 / pupil (16.0% of operating)
Day-to-day custodial services, building utilities (electricity, heat, water), mechanical HVAC upkeep, and school grounds maintenance funded from general operating revenue under Bulletin 1022.
Capital Projects & Sinking Funds (Fund 41)
Public School Academies (Charters) cannot levy capital sinking funds or bond debt under MCL 380.501; facility leases and mortgage operations are paid out of state aid foundation revenue.
10-Year Financial History & Balance Sheet
Audited operational revenues, expenditures, General Fund (Fund 11) reserves, and GASB 54 equity (FY 2016โ2025)
Audited General Fund Balance Sheet & GASB 54 Equity (FY 2023)
GASB 54 Classification Standards →
GASB 54 Note:
Under governmental accounting standards, ending General Fund equity comprises nonspendable inventory, state-restricted grants, board-committed funds, contracts assigned for future projects, and unassigned operating reserves. Consult the local audited financial statement for specific local assignments.
Total Fund Assets
$166K
Total Liabilities & Inflows
$33K
Total Ending Equity
$134K
Assigned Commitments
$0
Operating Cushion (Unassigned)
$134K
Charter Public School Academy Notice: Under Part 6A of the Revised School Code (MCL 380.501), charter public school academies have no statutory property taxing authority for capital sinking funds or voter-approved municipal bonds.
| Fiscal Year & Pupils | Operating Rev / Spend | Fund 11 Balance | Reserve & Days Operating Spend | Fund 41 Capital Fund 41 Capital Projects Capital project funds, bond proceeds, and sinking fund tax millages restricted exclusively to physical facilities and infrastructure under MCL 380.1212 and MCL 380.1351a. Strictly segregated from General Fund 11 operating funds. View in Glossary → |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
FY 2023 (2022-23)
49.2 pupils
• โผ Deficit Year
|
$680,280.38
Spend: $718,611.85
|
$133,616.66
General Operating
|
18.59%
~68 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2022 (2021-22)
51.8 pupils
• โผ Deficit Year
|
$619,077.16
Spend: $650,127.59
|
$171,948.75
General Operating
|
26.45%
~96 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2021 (2020-21)
61.9 pupils
|
$618,618.63
Spend: $450,948.85
|
$202,999.21
General Operating
|
45.02%
~164 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2020 (2019-20)
48.8 pupils
|
$491,925.38
Spend: $405,372.97
|
$35,329.43
General Operating
|
8.72%
~32 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2019 (2018-19)
43.2 pupils
• โผ Deficit Year
|
$459,490.32
Spend: $573,039.62
|
$-51,222.98
General Operating
|
-8.94%
~-33 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2018 (2017-18)
46.9 pupils
• โผ Deficit Year
|
$502,429.41
Spend: $547,484.70
|
$62,326.32
General Operating
|
11.38%
~42 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2017 (2016-17)
58.3 pupils
|
$567,868.52
Spend: $542,915.26
|
$107,382.00
General Operating
|
19.78%
~72 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
|
FY 2016 (2015-16)
61.1 pupils
|
$946,706.69
Spend: $879,973.34
|
$82,428.35
General Operating
|
8.55%
~31 days spend
|
$0.00
Restricted Facility
|
Teacher Compensation & Staffing Benchmarks
Audited average teacher salaries, FTE headcounts, and peer benchmarks (FY 2025)
Average Teacher Salary
Not Reported
Average teacher salary not reported in MDE Bulletin 1014 filing.
Average Teaching Experience
Not Reported
Educator experience not reported in CEPI REP filing.
| Fiscal Year | Teacher FTE | Avg Teacher Salary | Avg Experience | ISD 15 Median | Statewide Median | ISD Comparison |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2023 | 4.5 | Not Reported | 5.5 yrs | โ | $52,166.00 | โ |
| FY 2022 | 5.4 | Not Reported | 5.5 yrs | โ | $48,964.00 | โ |
| FY 2021 | 2.9 | Not Reported | 5.4 yrs | โ | $45,362.00 | โ |
| FY 2020 | 4.1 | Not Reported | 5.4 yrs | โ | $43,828.50 | โ |
| FY 2019 | 8.1 | Not Reported | 5.3 yrs | โ | $44,309.00 | โ |
| FY 2018 | 5.5 | Not Reported | 5.3 yrs | โ | $40,242.50 | โ |
| FY 2017 | 4.9 | Not Reported | 5.2 yrs | โ | $37,778.00 | โ |
| FY 2016 | 5.8 | Not Reported | 5.2 yrs | โ | $39,683.00 | โ |